Lampaert Wins Stage 1 Time Trial of Tour de Suisse

News & Results

06/9/2024| 0 comments

Lampaert Wins Stage 1 Time Trial of Tour de Suisse

Yves Lampaert (Soudal-QuickStep) has won stage 1 at Tour de Suisse 2024 - an individual time trial in Vaduz

Tour de Suisse 2024 commenced with a stage 1 individual time trial on a 4.77-kilometer route from Vaduz to Vaduz. Last year’s Tour de Suisse winner Mattias Skjelmose (Team Lidl-Trek) was present at the start of this year’s race, which is also the final prelude stage race before this year’s Tour de France, which will start in Florence, Italy on June 29, 2024.

Beyond Skjelmose, other General Classification favorites present in this year’s Tour de Suisse included Marc Hirschi (UAE Team Emirates), Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates), Lenny Martinez (Groupama-FDJ), Thomas Pidcock (Ineos-Grenadiers), Richard Carapaz (EF Education-EasyPost), Enric Mas (Team Movistar), Egan Bernal (Ineos-Grenadiers), and Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates).

The route of the stage 1 prologue was no more than 4.77-kilometers short, and the favorites were off to an early start as rain was predicted to start later in the afternoon.

Ion Izagirre set the early fastest finish time for his Cofidis Team. The Spaniard entered the hot seat. Soudal-QuickStep’s Yves Lampaert later replaced Izagirre in the hot seat, while Swiss-national Stefan Bissegger (EF Education-EasyPost) finished second at this point. But several riders had yet to start their time trials. Bissegger had previously finished third in the time trial of this year’s Paris-Nice.

Richard Carapaz delivered a disappointing performance in today’s short time trial and crossed the finish line in 54th position at this point.

Defending Tour de Suisse Champion Mattias Skjelmose (Lidl-Trek) finished tenth in the preliminary rankings. The Dane was approximately eleven seconds slower than stage leader Lampaert.

Ethan Hayter was third for Ineos-Grenadiers and Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) finished fourth in the preliminary stage rankings.

No significant events happened later in today’s time trial stage and Yves Lampaert (Soudal-QuickStep) won today’s stage 1 of Tour de Suisse 2024. Stefan Bissegger finished second for EF Education-EasyPost, while Ethan Hayter completed the stage podium for Ineos-Grenadiers.

Stay tuned to for additional coverage from Tour de Suisse 2024.

Our cycling coverage is sponsored by Meyer Burger – Solar Power Deluxe – The “Apple” of Solar energy systems. Meyer Burger offers premium solar solutions for roofs, balconies and open spaces. Visit to experience energy savings like never before. Demand the highest quality – ask for Meyer Burger.

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment