Gerrans Wins Liege-Bastogne-Liege

News & Results

04/28/2014| 0 comments
by Gerald Churchill
Simon Gerrans, Alejandro Valverde and Michal Kwiatkowski on the Liege-Bastogne-Liege podium Fotoreporter Sirotti

Gerrans Wins Liege-Bastogne-Liege

Simon Gerrans (GreenEdge) has won the second Monument of his career.

Simon Gerrans (GreenEdge) has won the second Monument of his career. The Australian, who won Milan-San Remo in 2012, took a bunch sprint to win the rugged, 263-km Liege-Bastogne-Liege in 6:37:43. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) finished second, and Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) took third.

As has been the case throughout this classics season, fair weather greeted the riders at the start. At six km, Pirmin Lang (IAM Cycling), Michel Koch (Cannondale), Jacobus Venter (MTN-Qhubeka), Matteo Bono (Lampre-Merida), Pieter Jakobs (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise), and Marco Minnaard (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) sallied off of the front after the peloton snuffed out an earlier move. The bunch gave this break its head, and the sextet’s advantage ballooned to 14:20 at 39.5 km and 15:50 at the summit of the day’s first climb, the Cote de la Roche-en- Ardenne (70 km).

BMC, Movistar, Lotto-Belisol, and Garmin-Sharp went to the front. With almost 100 km remaining, a crash took down Jan Bakelants (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), Roman Kreuziger (Tinkoff-Saxo Bank), and Louis Meintjes (MTN-Qhubeka) hit the deck, but all remounted quickly.

On the Cote de Stockeu, the break dropped Minnaard. Behind, the pursuit’s speed increased. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), who was feeling the effects of crashes in the Amstel Gold Race and La Fleche Wallonne, and Jurgen Van den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) dropped off the pace and eventually abandoned. With 75 km to go, world road race champion Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida) crashed and abandoned. The gap between bunch and break narrowed to four minutes with 60 km remaining and to 2:30 on the run to the Cote de La Redoute.

On La Redoute, the peloton, led by Omega Pharma-Quick Step and Garmin-Sharp-POC, was within two minutes of the break. Bono jumped away from his companions. Warren Barguil (Giant-Shimano) attacked from the peloton and took Julian Arredondo (Trek) and Bakelants with him. The peloton scooped up the escapees, while Venter rejoined Bono.

On the Cote des Forges, Bono dropped Venter for good. The Italian led the field by 0:40. Alex Howes (Garmin-Sharp-POC) attacked from the bunch. Jerome Waugnies (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) and Jelle Vanendert (Lotto-Belisol) joined the Briton and attempted to bridge up to Bono, but the peloton reeled them in. The bunch caught the Italian on the Cote de La Roche-aux-Faucons.

Arredondo countered, and Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r-La Mondiale) joined him. The pair breasted the climb with Samuel Sanchez (BMC Racing Team) in pursuit. The bunch caught Sanchez, and a large chase group formed. With 12 km left, Arredondo and Pozzovivo had 0:15 on the field, but the chasers overhauled them.

Movistar and Team GreenEdge led the field. Stefan Denifl (IAM Cycling) attacked on the day’s last climb, the Cote de Saint Nicolas, and Giampaolo Caruso (Katusha) and Pozzovivo followed. Denifl was dropped, and Caruso and Pozzovivo forged a 15-second lead. The chasers could not agree on who would pursue the fugitives, who led by 0:10 with one km remaining.

Daniel Martin (Garmin-Sharp-POC) attacked. The defending champion caught the leaders and appeared poised to repeat as champion. The Irishman crashed on the race’s final turn, however, and the bunch swept past him. The peloton scooped


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment