Arvesen Wins Stage 8 of Giro

News & Results

05/25/2007| 0 comments
by Gerald Churchill

Arvesen Wins Stage 8 of Giro

Kurt-Asle Arvesen (CSC) has won Stage 8 of the Giro d?Italia.

Kurt-Asle Arvesen (CSC) has won Stage 8 of the Giro d?Italia. The Norwegian outsprinted Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) and Assan Bazayev (Astana) to win the rugged, 200-km stage from Barberino Di Mugello to Fiorano Modenese in 4:44:59. Marco Pinotti (T-Mobile) remains the maglia rosa, but he lost most of his lead over the field.


The day was another warm, sunny one. At 24 km, Dario Cioni (Predictor) attacked, and 26 riders joined him. They were Arvesen; Bettini; Bazayev and Sergei Yakovlev (both from Astana); Evgeni Petrov and Pavel Brutt (Tinkoff); Dionisio Galparoso (Euskaltel); George Hincapie and Jose Luis Rubiera (both from Discovery Channel); Alessandro Spezialetti and Andrea Noe (both from Liquigas); Rinaldo Nocentini (Ag2r); Emanuele Sella (Panaria); David Arroyo (Caisse d?Epargne); Alexander Arekeev (Acqua e Sapone); Marzio Bruseghin, Francisco Vila, and Marco Manzano (Lampre); and Mario Aerts (Predictor). Ricco?s presence in the break disturbed escapees such as Bettini and Bruseghin who wanted the break to succeed. They felt that Ricco?s wearing the white jersey would prompt a chase. They made their displeasure known, and Saunier Duval directeur sportif Pietro Algeri instructed Ricco to return to the bunch.


At 61 km, the bunch led the maglia rosa group by 4:15. Forty km later, the gap had grown to 6:38, and it topped off at 6:43 with 125 km remaining. At this point, T-Mobile and Saunier Duval were chasing.


The maglia rosa group chased hard to narrow the gap. At 152 km, 6:22 separated the bunch from Pinotti?s group. The gap narrowed further, to 5:15 at 170 km and to 4:30 at 176 km.


With five km left, Brutt attacked his companions. Bettini covered the move. Two km later, Aerts had a go, but Rubiera rode him down. With two km remaining, Nocentini threw down the gauntlet, and Brutt more than responded. The Russian led his companions by 50 m at the one-km banner.


Sella charged after Brutt, and Bettini lit out after Sella. Arvesen, however, passed the world champion with 120 m left.


In the overall, Pinotti leads Noe by 0:28 and Yakovlev by 0:54. Stage 9 will not change this state of affairs. The 177-km ride from Reggio nell?Emilia to Lido Di Camaiore will feature a hilly first half and a downhill run to the finish. The stage should end in a sprint. Who will win? Check in at and find out!

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment