Zabriskie Wins TT at Dauphine Libere

News & Results

06/9/2006| 0 comments
by Gerald Churchill

Zabriskie Wins TT at Dauphine Libere

David Zabriskie (CSC) has won his second stage of this year?s Dauphine Libere.

David Zabriskie (CSC) has won his second stage of this year?s Dauphine Libere. The American sped over the rolling, 43-km time trial course in Bourg-le-Peage to win Stage 3 in 52:48. Floyd Landis (Phonak) finished second at 53:41, and Levi Leipheimer (Gerolsteiner) took third at 54:05. Philippe Gilbert (Francaise des Jeux) remains the overall leader.

 <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /?>

Marco Pinotti (Saunier Duval) set the early standard. He posted a 54:42. The Italian?s time remained the time to beat until Leipheimer smashed it. Several potential winners, however, were on the course, and one of them was on target to take the lead from Leipheimer.


Landis had the second fastest time at the first time check (8.5 km) and the fastest at the second (28.5 km). In the last 15 km, the Phonak man poured on the coal to post a 53:41 and take the lead from Leipheimer.


Zabriskie, a time trial specialist, indicated early that Landis would not take the stage. The CSC man had the best time by 0:14 at the first checkpoint and by 0:45 at the second. Zabriskie added to his lead in the homestretch to beat Landis by 0:53 and Leipheimer by 1:17.


CSC director Alain Gallopin marveled at Zabriskie?s performance. ?It was simply amazing to watch Dave ride the time trial today,? Gallopin said. ?He was definitely in a league of his own, and I think he did a perfect time trial. He?s outstanding in this discipline, and today no one was able to reach his level. Now we just have to wait and see what he?s capable of in tomorrow?s stage, which will be very hard, but definitely interesting for us.?


Stage 4 will be a standing shaker. The 186-km ride will begin at Tain-l?Hermitage and end on Mont Ventoux. Expect a barroom brawl on the finishing climb. Who will win it? Denis Menchov (Rabobank)? Leonardo Piepoli (Saunier Duval)? Francisco Mancebo (Ag2r)? Check in at and find out!

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment