The Week That Was...

News & Results

04/10/2006| 0 comments
by Ian Melvin
Oscar Freire. Photo copyright Fotoreporter Sirotti.
Oscar Freire. Photo copyright Fotoreporter Sirotti.

The Week That Was...

Ian comments on the happenings in the world of cycling.

Spanish team, Saunier Duval, has according to De Telegraaf offered Rabobank?s Oscar Freire a one million Euro contract to ride for them in 2007.   <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /?>

"With Freire we want to strengthen our team for the spring,? said team manager Joxean Fernandez. "Oscar and I have been good friends for years; the interests are mutual but it's too early for a definitive decision yet,? he added.

Saunier Duval is keen to add a solid classics rider to their squad which all ready boasts tour riders Gilberto Simoni and David Millar.

Promising <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" /?>
US rider, Saul Raisin of the French Credit Agricole team was last week admitted to hospital following a serious crash in the Circuit de la Sarthe stage race.   Raisin fell in stage 1 of the event, suffering a cerebral oedema and is currently in a coma.   His Director Sportif admitted that the crash happened as a result of the rider suffering an epileptic fit although their team doctor denies the rider suffers from such a condition.

Shortly after being operated on to reduce the swelling in his brain, Dr M?nard from the hospital in
Angers
said, "There is currently no longer any risk to his life.   The coma can last between days and weeks. It is necessary that the brain heals now." Thoughts and prayers can be sent to Saul at www.saulraisin.com. All the guys here at Roadcycling.com wish him a speedy and full recovery.

After much discussion and confusion about the route for this year?s Giro d?Italia, organisers RCS last week released the final stage listings.   The race begins in Seraing in
Belgium
on May 6.   The most notable absentee is the proposed two stages on the final day.   The traditional procession into
Milan has now been favoured as the end to the first of the year?s Grand Tours.

The full stage listings are:

Stage 1 - Saturday, May 6: Seraing - Seraing ITT, 6.2 km
Stage 2 - Sunday, May 7: Mons - Charleroi Marcinelle, 197 km
Stage 3 - Monday, May 8: Perwez - Namur, 202 km
Stage 4 - Tuesday, May 9: Wanze - Hotton, 193 km
Rest Day - Wednesday, May 10
Stage 5 - Thursday, May 11: Piacenza - Cremona TTT, 38 km
Stage 6 - Friday, May 12: Busseto - Forli', 227 km
Stage 7 - Saturday, May 13: Cesena - Saltara, 236 km
Stage 8 - Sunday, May 14: Civitanova Marche - Maielletta Passo Lanciano, 171 km
Stage 9 - Monday, May 15: Francavilla Al Mare ? Termoli, 127 km
Stage 10 - Tuesday, May 16: Termoli - Peschici, 187 km
Rest Day - Wednesday, May 17
Stage 11 - Thursday, May 18: Pontedera - Pontedera ITT, 50 km
Stage 12 - Friday, May 19: Livorno - Sestri Levante, 171 km
Stage 13 - Saturday, May 20: Alessandria - La Thuile, 218 km
Stage 14 - Sunday, May 21: Aosta - Domodossola, 223 km
Stage 15 - Monday, May 22: Mergozzo - Brescia, 189 km
Stage 16 - Tuesday, May 23: Rovato - Trento Monte Bondone, 173

Pages

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment