Teutenberg Wins Wachovia Liberty Classic

News & Results

06/6/2005| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

Teutenberg Wins Wachovia Liberty Classic

Teutenberg sprints to Wachovia Liberty Classic title.

An early breakaway in the Wachovia Liberty Classic led to Ina Yoko Teutenberg (T-Mobile) taking the overall win. The T-Mobile team set up a perfect lead-out train delivering Teutenberg to the line over Regina Schleicher (Equipe Nurnberger) in second and local favorite Laura Van Gilder (Team Quark ? Poconos, PA) in third. <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /?>


The women?s 90.56 km race opened with a feverish pace as 12 riders broke away on the first full lap of the 14.4-mile course. The break included notables Kimberly Baldwin (T-Mobile), Christine Thorburn (Webcor Builders), Teutenberg, Dotsie Cowden (Colavita ? Cooking Light) and riders representing the Nobili Rubinetteri and Equipe Nurnberger squads.


The international dozen was driven throughout the race by Team T-Mobile who had three riders in the break. Equipe Nurngerger was also a driving force with three riders as well. The strong breakaway was able to maintain their lead the entire way setting up a leadout train by Team T-Mobile who delivered their designated sprinter Teutenberg to the line giving her her first win in the prestigious Wachovia Liberty Classic. Placing close behind in the sprint were second place finisher Schleicher and third place Van Gilder.


The 2005 Women?s Subaru Master of the Mountain was taken by Thorburn (31 points) who nearly tripled the points scored by second place finisher Oenone Wood (12 points) (Equipe Nurnberger).


Taking home the Miji Reoch Best Young Rider Award for the fourth time was Lauren Franges of the Victory Brewing Cycling Team. Franges placed 19th to earn the designation.


Wachovia Liberty Classic - Complete results:
1 Ina Yoko Teutenberg (Ger) T-Mobile Pro Cycling Team        02:24:47

2 Regina Schleicher (Ger) Equipe Nurnberger

3 Laura Van Gilder (USA) Team Quark

4 Oenone Wood (Aus) Equipe Nurnberger

5 Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) Nobili Rubinetteri

6 Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu) Nobili Rubinetteri

7 Judith Arndt (Ger) Equipe Nurnberger

8 Sigrid Corneo (Ita) Nobili Rubinetteri

9 Tina Pic (USA) Team Quark

10 Lynn Gaggioli (USA) East Coast Velo

11 Amy Moore (Can) Victory Brewing Cycling Team/Safi Pasta

12 Christine Thorburn (USA) Webcor Builders                              0.03

13 Kimberly Baldwin (USA) T-Mobile Pro Cycling Team                      0.06

14 Kristen Armstrong (USA) T-Mobile Pro Cycling Team                     0.17

15 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Victory Brewing Cycling Team/Safi Pasta    0.53

16 Melissa Sanborn (USA) Subway

17 Gina Grain (Can) Victory Brewing Cycling Team/Safi Pasta

18 Olga Slioussareva (Rus) Nobili Rubinetteri

19 Lauren Franges (USA) Victory Brewing Cycling Team/Safi Pasta

20 Kori Seehofer (USA) T-Mobile Pro Cycling Team

21 Daniela Fusar Poli (Ita) Nobili Rubinetteri

22 Kimberly Cunningham (USA) Morgan Stanley 24 Hr Fitness

23 Sarah Bamberger (USA) Touchstone Climbing

24 Nicolle Freedman (Isr) Ford/Basis

25 Katherine Carroll (USA) BMW Bianchi

26 Meredith Miller (USA) Nobili Rubinetteri

27 Kathleen Billington (USA) Diet Cheerwine

28 Allie Warfel (USA) Morgan Stanley 24 Hr Fitness

29 Liza Rachetto (USA) Team Lipton

30 Annette Beutler (Sui) Team Quark

31 Nicole Wangsgard (USA) Subway

32 Kristen Sanders (USA) East Coast Velo

33 Julie Belanger (Can) Diet Cheerwine

34 Michele Beltran (USA) Colavita Cooking Light

35 Nancy Lux (USA) BMW Bianchi

36 Leigh Valetti


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment