Mancebo Wins Stage 10 of Vuelta

News & Results

09/6/2005| 0 comments
by Gerald Churchill

Mancebo Wins Stage 10 of Vuelta

Francisco Mancebo (Illes Balears) has won his first Grand Tour stage.

Francisco Mancebo (Illes Balears) has won his first Grand Tour stage. The Spaniard took a three-up sprint from Roberto Heras (Liberty Seguros) and Denis Menchov (Rabobank) to win the mountainous, 206.3-km ride from Girona to Arcalis, Andorra in 5:33:49. Menchov remains the overall leader.

 <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /?>

The racing began early. At 10 km, Miguel Perdiguero and Oscar Pereiro (Phonak), Eladio Jimenez, David Bernabeu, and Adolfo Garcia Quesada (Comunidad Valenciana), Joaquin Rodriguez (Saunier Duval), Angel Vicioso (Liberty Seguros), David Lopez (Euskaltel), Stijn Devolder (Discovery Channel), and Aitor Osa (Illes Balears) sallied off of the front. At 39 km, the 10 riders led the field by 1:20.


On the Category 1 Port de Collada de Tosses (77 km), Joseba Beloki and Michele Scarponi (Liberty Seguros), Jose Garcia Acosta and Joan Horrach (both from Illes Balears), Bernabeu, Benjamin Noval (Discovery Channel), Rik Verbrugghe (Quick Step), and Inigo Cuesta (Saunier Duval) bridged up to the leaders. Two km from from the top of the climb, the escapees led the peloton by 2:20. The break?s advantage increased to 4:52 by 130 km.


On the Category 1 Collet de Montaup (178 km), with 3:15 separating the bunch from the break, Osa, Lopez, and Verbrugghe attacked their companions, and Quesada joined them. On the descent, Osa crashed and broke his collarbone, but the others pressed on. At the foot of the Special Category finishing climb, Verbrugghe led a group of 10 riders, with the maillot oro group 1:20 behind the chase group.


With nine km remaining, Quesada bridged up to Verbrugghe. Two km later, Mercado joined the pair, and the Belgian was dropped. Oscar Sevilla (T-Mobile) tried unsuccessfully to bridge up to the pair. The maillot oro group rode down the break relentlessly.


With three km left, Heras, Mancebo, and Menchov joined Quesada and Mercado. Heras and Mercado launched numerous attacks, but the five riders stayed together. With 300 m left, Heras began to sprint, but Mancebo passed him on the right in the last 10 m.


In the overall, Menchov leads Heras by 0:47 and Mancebo by 1:53. Stage 11 will be another challenging stage. The 186.6-km ride from Arcalis to Aramon Cerler will feature five climbs: the Category 1 Port del Canto; the Category 2 Colls de Bretui, de la Creu de Perves, and de la Espina; and the Special Category finishing climb. Who will win? Heras? Mancebo? Menchov? Check in at http://www.roadcycling.com/ and find out!

Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment