2008 Jayco Herald Sun Tour Results - Stage 3

News & Results

10/17/2008| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

2008 Jayco Herald Sun Tour Results - Stage 3

Cooke wins stage; O'Grady leads overall.

After two second places, Australian rider Baden Cooke brought Team Barloworld a great victory in the Jayco Herald Sun Tour's fourth stage (Warragul-Marysville of 137 km). Cooke outdid Dominique Rollin (Toyota United) and Simon Clarke (SouthAustralia.com) after a 15 man close sprint.

The first part of the race was pretty smooth but in the last 35 km the peloton had to face the first long mountain of the 2008 Herald Sun Tour, soon followed by a very fast and technical descent just before the arrival in Marysville. And it was during the last ascent that a 15 men escape formed ahead of the pelotonWith less than 2km to go, the sprint was inevitable and Baden Cooke didn't miss the target.

"I was in a perfect position with 200m to go," stated a jubilant Baden Cooke at the finish "In spite of a very difficult sprint. I'm so happy because of my form growing up day by day. And racing on my home soil gave me a special boost. I was disappointed with my two second places, but I didn't lose the determination. I want to thanks my team mates: I think today we proved we are a big team!"

Tomorrow's queen stage of the 2008 Herald Sun Tour will take the riders from Alexandra to Mt. Buller - a distance of of 115.4 km. It will be a mountainous race with the finish set up to the hors category Mt. Bullet, after a 16 km climb. The overall contenders will have to do their best in the finale.

October 15, 2008: Herald Sun Tour: Warragul - Marysville (137 km):
1 Baden Cooke (Aus) Barloworld      03:27:42
2 Dominique Rollin (Can) Toyota-United                    
3 Simon Clarke (Aus) SouthAustralia.com-AIS               
4 Jeremy Yates (NZl) Yes Optus Shop New Zealand           
5 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) CSC-Saxo Bank                      
6 Will Walker (Aus) Virgin Blue Australia                 
7 Matt Wilson (Aus) Team Type 1                           
8 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) SouthAustralia.com-AIS          
9 Gene Bates (Aus) Drapac Porsche                         
10 Christopher Froome (GBr) Barloworld                    
11 Lars Bak (Den) CSC-Saxo Bank                           
12 Marco Corti (Ita) Barloworld                           
13 Will Routley (Can) Bicycle Superstore Canada           
14 Benjamin Day (Aus) Toyota-United                       
15 Andrew Randell (Can) Bicycle Superstore Canada         
16 Glen Chadwick (NZl) Team Type 1                        
17 Peter McDonald (Aus) Drapac Porsche                 0.04
18 Tim Roe (Aus) Savings & Loans                       0.06
19 Richie Porte (Aus) Praties                          0.21
20 William Ford (Aus) SouthAustralia.com-AIS              
21 David Pell (Aus) Savings & Loans                    0.54
22 Mitchell Docker (Aus) Drapac Porsche                   
23 Adam Semple (Aus) SouthAustralia.com-AIS               
24 Hugo Sabido (Por) Barloworld                           
25 Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan                            
26 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Bicycle Superstore Canada          
27 Daryl Impey (RSA) Barloworld                           
28 Ben Grieve-Johnson (Aus) Praties                       
29 Daniel Braunsteins (Aus) Drapac Porsche                
30 Rob Britton (Can) Bicycle Superstore Canada         1.09
31 Chris Luxton (Aus) Savings & Loans                  1.24
32 Kenichi Suzuki (Jpn) Aisan                          1.26
33 Mark O'brien (Aus) Drapac Porsche                   1.30
34 Bernard Van Ulden (USA) Jelly Belly                 1.41
35 Cameron Wurf (Aus) Virgin Blue Australia               
36 Angus Morton (Aus) Drapac Porsche                      
37 Takumi Beppu (Jpn) Aisan                            1.57
38 Chris Jory (Aus) Panasonic                          5.33
39 Cameron Jennings (Aus) Budget


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment