Tour de Romandie Results - Stage 5

News & Results

05/4/2008| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

Tour de Romandie Results - Stage 5

Overall win for Team Astana's Klöden; Final stage won by Bennati.

Team Astana's Andreas Klöden has won the 2008 Tour de Romandie. Klöden built on his successful time trial stage Friday in Sion to carry the yellow jersey all the way to Lausanne. The final stage sprint was won by Daniele Bennati (Liquigas) with Kazakh champion  Maxim Iglinskiy taking 3rd.

“The victory was a real team victory”, commented team director Alain Gallopin. “Thomas Frei, Vladimir Gusev, Maxim Iglinskiy, Julien Mazet, Steve Morabito, Dmitriy Muravyev and Sergey Yakovlev, they all worked hard the whole week.  In the last stage today 40 riders were in the breakaway on the Col des Mosses. All eight Astana ‘s were in that breakaway.  I think we were simply the best team on the Swiss roads.”

The Astana cycling team won the overall team classification as well and the pro team once again leads the ProTour team classification.

For Andreas Klöden, the overall victory was his second win of the season. The 32-year-old rider is the first German ever to win the Tour of Romandy which has taken place since 1947. He will be one of the team leaders in the Tour of Italy, starting next Saturday.

Stage 5: May 4, 2008: Tour of Romandy: Le Bouveret - Lausanne (159.5 km):
1 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Liquigas       03:43:39
2 Markus Zberg (Swi) Gerolsteiner                                          
3 Maxim Iglinsky (Kaz) Astana                                              
4 Matti Breschel (Den) Team CSC                                            
5 Björn Schröder (Ger) Team Milram                                         
6 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team High Road                                      
7 Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team                                        
8 Daniele Righi (Ita) Lampre                                               
9 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne                           
10 Mikel Astarloza Chaurreau (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                     
11 Martin Elmiger (Swi) AG2r - La Mondiale                                 
12 Matteo Bono (Ita) Lampre                                                
13 Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Racing Team                                     
14 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Saunier Duval - Scott                               
15 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Silence - Lotto                                    
16 Matej Jurco (Svk) Team Milram                                           
17 Iñaki Isasi Flores (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                            
18 Andreas Klöden (Ger) Astana                                             
19 Vincent Jérôme (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                                   
20 Juan Manuel Garate (Spa) Quick Step                                     
21 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) Française des Jeux                                
22 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Caisse d'Epargne                                   
23 Josep Jufre Pou (Spa) Saunier Duval - Scott                             
24 Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                            
25 Sandy Casar (Fra) Française des Jeux                                    
26 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Lampre                                              
27 Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Crédit Agricole                                   
28 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas                                          
29 Morris Possoni (Ita) Team High Road                                     
30 Adam Hansen (Aus) Team High Road                                        
31 Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Lampre                                            
32 David Loosli (Swi) Lampre                                               
33 Mario Aerts (Bel) Silence - Lotto                                       
34 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi                        
35 Steve Morabito (Swi) Astana                                             
36 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank                                            
37 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Team High Road                                      
38 John Gadret (Fra) AG2r - La Mondiale                                    
39 Jérémy Roy (Fra) Française des Jeux                                     
40 Rémy Di Grégorio (Fra) Française des Jeux                               
41 José Angel Gomez Marchante (Spa) Saunier Duval - Scott                  
42 Manuel Beltran Martinez (Spa) Liquigas                                  
43 Yannick Talabardon (Fra) Crédit Agricole                                
44 Peter Velits (Svk) Team Milram                                          
45 Rubens Bertogliati (Swi) Saunier Duval - Scott                          
46 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team CSC                                               
47 Oscar Pereiro Sio (Spa)


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment