2010 Women's Tour of Qatar Results - Stage 3

News & Results

02/5/2010| 0 comments
by Roadcycling.com

2010 Women's Tour of Qatar Results - Stage 3

Cervelo TestTeam's Kirsten Wild wins final stage and is the overall winner of the 2010 Women's Tour of Qatar.

Cervelo TestTeam's sprinter ace Kirsten Wild earlier today won the last stage of the 2010 Women's Tour of Qatar today and thanks to this stage win was also victorious in the final overall tour rankings. As well as successfully defending her championship from last year, Wild also provided Cervelo TestTeam with their first victory in 2010 very early in the new season.

"It was a pretty exciting day today," race winner Kirsten Wild said after the stage. "We started with 4 seconds behind leader Bronzini and I was able to close that gap by 1 second in the intermediate sprints. Then I knew that it all depended on the last sprint. My teammates (Sarah Düster and Regina Bruins, ed.) did an incredible good job in the final. They brought me into the perfect position and I was able to win the sprint."

"This was a great team effort and a perfect start for the 2010 season. I came through the winter well and with this team we are really confident about the season ahead. Tomorrow we travel to Portugal to prepare ourselves for the classics season that begin on February 28 with the Omloop het Nieuwsblad."

"It was an exciting race today, early in the stage there was a break from Lisa Brennauer (German National Team)," Cervelo TestTeam sports director Egon van Kessel commented. van Kessel added "She achieved a maximum gap of three and half minutes and then the other teams forced us to close the gap. After we took her back Emilia Fahlin (HTC - Columbia) attacked and because she was still dangerous in the General Classification, leader Giorgia Bronzini's team (Italian National Team) was forced to close the gap, That took a lot of effort on their part and in the final we took over the lead and brought Kirsten into a perfect position where she was able to win both the stage and the GC."

Cervelo TestTeam's Elizabeth "Lizzie" Armitstead, who crashed in stage 1 is recovering fast from her crash and will fly back to Europe with her teammates after celebrating the race victory tonight.

Februar 5, 2010: Sealine Beach Resort - Doha Corniche (95 km):
1 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Cervelo TestTeam 02:45:40
2 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Italy
3 Lauren Tamayo (USA) US National Team
4 Martine Bras (Ned) Netherlands
5 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) France
6 Elke Gebhardt (Ger) Germany
7 Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Netherlands
8 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
9 Angela Hennig (Ger) Germany
10 Xin Liu (Chn) Giant Pro Cycling
11 Sophie Creux (Fra) France
12 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
13 Shelley Olds (USA) US National Team
14 Loes Markerink (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
15 Kirsty Broun (Aus) Australia
16 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Germany
17 Monia Baccaille (Ita) Italy
18 Eleonora Patuzzo (Ita) Safi -Pasta Zara Manhattan
19 Marlen Johrend (Ger) Germany
20 Judith Arndt (Ger) HTC Columbia Women
21 Sinead Miller (USA) US National Team
22 Adrie Visser (Ned) HTC Columbia Women
23 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Red Sun Cycling Team
24 Noemi Cantele (Ita) HTC Columbia Women
25 Marie Lindberg


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment