2008 Jayco Herald Sun Tour Results - Stage 5

News & Results

10/17/2008| 0 comments
by Thomas Valentinsen

2008 Jayco Herald Sun Tour Results - Stage 5

Stuart O'Grady wins time trial and leads the race overall.

Friday's 16.2 kilometer time trial in the 2008 Jayco Herald Sun Tour gave Team CSC-Saxo Bank exactly what they wanted, as the team kept the two top positions in the general classifications. Though Stuart O'Grady took back the yellow jersey by a margin of 21 seconds on Lars Bak.

O'Grady got his second victory in the race so far and thereby showed that he still possesses great time trial abilities. The Aussie veteran won the stage three seconds ahead of Benjamin Day (Toyota-United) with Bernard Van Ulden (Jelly Belly) in third spot.

"I got into a good rhytm from the start and I managed to keep it going although the parcours were actually quite hilly. It's a great feeling to prove to myself, that I have still got what it takes, and if I can hold on to the jersey on the final stage it will be a fantastic moral boost for me going into the winter break," O'Grady told Roadcycling.com after the stage.

O'Grady added that "We only have five riders down here, but everyone has worked really hard to make this a success, so I'm sure we will do our best again tomorrow. Perhaps we can get some help in the efforts because the last stage probably will animate the sprinter teams to go for it as well."


October 17, 2008: Herald Sun Tour: Yarra Valley (16.4 km ITT):
1 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) CSC-Saxo Bank      00:24:16:5
2 Benjamin Day (Aus) Toyota-United                     0.03.2
3 Bernard Van Ulden (USA) Jelly Belly                  0.06.9
4 Lars Bak (Den) CSC-Saxo Bank                         0.21.0
5 Richie Porte (Aus) Praties                           0.21.8
6 Glen Chadwick (NZl) Team Type 1                      0.22.1
7 Dominique Rollin (Can) Toyota-United                 0.22.6
8 Jeremy Yates (NZl) Yes Optus Shop New Zealand        0.26.5
9 Daryl Impey (RSA) Barloworld                         0.39.1
10 Christopher Froome (GBr) Barloworld                 0.39.3
11 Jack Bobridge (Aus) SouthAustralia.com-AIS          0.40.1
12 Will Walker (Aus) Virgin Blue Australia             0.56.2
13 Andrew Randell (Can) Bicycle Superstore Canada      0.58.4
14 Chris Jongeward (Aus) Panasonic                     0.59.0
15 Matt Wilson (Aus) Team Type 1                       0.59.5
16 Cameron Wurf (Aus) Virgin Blue Australia            1.05.8
17 Rob Britton (Can) Bicycle Superstore Canada         1.06.6
18 Will Routley (Can) Bicycle Superstore Canada        1.07.3
19 Peter McDonald (Aus) Drapac Porsche                 1.10.8
20 Daniel Braunsteins (Aus) Drapac Porsche             1.11.5
21 Dylan Newell (Aus) Praties                          1.15.5
22 Peter Herzig (Aus) Panasonic                        1.17.1
23 Bradley McGee (Aus) CSC-Saxo Bank                   1.22.7
24 Angus Morton (Aus) Drapac Porsche                   1.24.3
25 Lasse Bochman (Den) CSC-Saxo Bank                   1.25.4
26 Mitchell Docker (Aus) Drapac Porsche                1.26.4
27 Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) SouthAustralia.com-AIS      1.26.5
28 Kazuhiro Mori (Jpn) Aisan                           1.27.8
29 Shawn Milne (USA) Team Type 1                       1.27.9
30 William Ford (Aus) SouthAustralia.com-AIS           1.36.5
31 Gene Bates (Aus) Drapac Porsche                     1.38.2
32 Gordon McCauley (NZl) Yes Optus Shop New Zealand    1.40.4
33 Jonathon Lovelock (Aus) Virgin Blue Australia       1.43.7
34 Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan                         1.45.5
35 Adam Semple (Aus) SouthAustralia.com-AIS            1.52.9
36 Jack Anderson (Aus) Budget Forklifts                1.55.1
37 Tim Roe (Aus) Savings & Loans                       1.55.8
38 Chris Luxton (Aus) Savings & Loans                  2.00.2
38 Hugo Sabido (Por) Barloworld                             
40 Cameron Hughes (Aus) Budget


Your comments
Your comments
sign up or login to post a comment